Archive

Daily Archives: June 2, 2010

Helping each other, even though there are differences (From Creative Commons)

“Coming together is a beginning. Keeping together is a progress. Working together is a success.” – Henry Ford
It has been exactly: 174 days, since school started.

That is: 1218 hours, or 73,080 minutes, or 4,384,800 seconds since I’ve been a sophomore.

BUT, in english class that is exactly: 120 hours

Every year in english class is different in a way–and this year was truly a time to remember. One of the key important things I’ve learned during this class was, something actually “extra-ordinary” (seriously…). It is teamwork. Our teacher, Ms. P., is a type of teacher who emphasizes on both the use of collaboration between peers and individual work. What was most interesting about this year’s English class was the fact that I didn’t have too much “close” friends within the group. I felt a bit distant from each other in a way, because our Class of 2012 is a group of kids that love creating “tribal groups” and sticking to themselves. What this division caused was the separation of close relationships we had between each other.

Just like these crew of Pilobolus, teamwork could accomplish magnificent things

However with Ms. P’s projects, homework, classwork, etc.–I felt more connected to each other, than before. At that time I realized that actually as a team, we could accomplish more. For the past five years since I’ve been in school, I have stereotyped different people and held distinct prejudices amongst them. Through the constant positive attitude lead by Ms. P., those barriers and walls broke just like the Berlin Wall (ooh! an allusion :)!)–and I learned the importance of teamwork. The one thing that really is so special about teamwork is the fusion of different ideals into one creative one. Teamwork requires people with different characteristics to work together and create a distinct product (whether it’s a project or an event). An example I could give in class would be when I had to work with two of the most introverted people. People usually describe me as an extrovert: bright, hyper, and talkative. However, when Ms. P. assigned me these two introverts, it really worried me in the fact that there would be awkward situations. In the end, that wasn’t the case: one of the groupmates was Flora K., and she was actually very skilled at art–helping us create a better character map & also one of the other groupmates was Ryan H., a friend with great skills in writing and analysis. With these people, I felt that we created a great product (character map, look at my previous posts!).

I can’t express how much I have to thank Ms. P. for making me understand the importance of teamwork. Teamwork is a strong force that could literally solve any problem in the world. However, an important lesson that I’ve learned is that in order for people to collaborate perfectly well is to actually break the stereotypes and prejudices one has amongst others. If that is accomplished, I’ve learned from english class that nothing is impossible.

This concludes the reflection of a hard sophomore year. Thank you Ms. P & my fellow A Block English class for a valuable Lesson.

dino k.